vintage modified 70's strat trem upgrade

Discussion in 'Squier Vintage Modified models' started by billygaffney, Aug 11, 2014.

1. billygaffney

billygaffney Squier Talker

Aug 11, 2014
    glasgow
    Hi all, newbie here looking for some advice.

just got a vintage modified strat 70's, replaced the pickups with bareknuckle mothers milk :) and all the pots and caps and wiring
    all thats left to do is fit a new trem unit,
    looking for advice and recomendations on what to go for, something that will just drop in and fit nicely

any and all advice is most welcome

cheers:):)

2. mikm

mikm Dr. Squier

Jun 4, 2012
    NY
    I put one in from TNT (Dragonfire). Big block steel. It's pretty good in my opinion and made a definite improvement in sustain and tone. If however I were to do it over I'd go with this Fender MIM replacement with alloy big block. The saddles and over all quality of the bridge are really quality again, my opinion. http://anthillmusic.com/products/ge...ard-strat-tremolo-bridge-with-high-mass-block Trem arm sold separate.

3. jamndad

jamndad Squier-holic

Nov 23, 2013
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    +1 on the trem from Anthill. It is original Fender product. $18.00 at Amazon. Great upgrade. Just put one on my VM 70's Strat.

4. billygaffney

Aug 11, 2014
    glasgow
    thanks for the advice guys, dunno how much import duty i'd get hit with though as im in Scotland.

from the spec on the link im looking for a unit with 2 & 1/16" string spacing.

thanks againg for that advice guys

5. LzeroKI

LzeroKI Squier-Meister

Jan 13, 2014
    North Carolina
    Anyone happen to know if the screw pattern for this trem will match up with the screw hols for the trem on a Bullet? I'm looking for a big block to put in my blue sparkle bullet I got a few weeks back.

OP, you might try checking out this website for a tremolo, they are located in the uk, so shipping would be cheaper, I would think.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2014
  6. jamndad

jamndad Squier-holic