Surf conversion

Discussion in 'Surf Music Forum' started by Ant_McEwan, Jan 13, 2021 at 1:18 PM.

1. Ant_McEwan

Ant_McEwan Squier Talker

Jan 1, 2021
    The Black Isle
    Hi all.

I'm fairly new to Surf. And I'm nearly 50.

In my previous guitar-owning-and-playing life I would sit and noodle out some blues to while away the time. Now I make sure the trem is at hand and whack the reverb onto full with some tremolo and delay too! It's just so... pleasing!

I used to play a lot of Shadows too and enjoy playing their songs, and I suppose their greats are "kind of" similar in style (not wanting to start any wars) so I guess it's safe to say I enjoy playing 60's instrumental pop/rock.

I blame YouTube in part for bringing me here. Somehow a few months they suggested that I watch a video by a band called The Surfrajettes.... (and suddenly I owned a Squier VM Surf Strat and became obsessed with offset guitars in pastel colours....)

And now I'm hooked!

Caddy, speelyei, wickedtools and 7 others like this.
  2. SoCalJim

SoCalJim Squier-Meister

Nov 12, 2020
    SoCal
    I love surf music, as well. Here on Squier-Talk, member PangPang has posted videos of he and his daughter playing various surf songs. Pretty great stuff. And, at least one of their videos features a Squier VM Surf Strat.

PangPang likes this.
  3. Ant_McEwan

Ant_McEwan Squier Talker

Jan 1, 2021
    The Black Isle
    Yeah, I noticed! They're great videos! :D

PangPang and SoCalJim like this.
  4. PangPang

PangPang Squier Talker

Jul 17, 2020
    Macau
    So ther Surfrejetters eh? You won't believe this. A similar thing happened. I saw them too and they ignited the fire that was in my heart for over 4 decades again!!!!

wickedtools and SoCalJim like this.
  5. plangentmusic

plangentmusic Squier-holic

Jul 4, 2012
    manhattan