Stupid new guy question

Discussion in 'Squier Stratocasters' started by woodrow611, Jan 11, 2017.

1. woodrow611

woodrow611 Squier Talker

Jan 6, 2017
    US
    Okay, I have my new squier affinity hss strat made in Indonesia with the Fender Front man 15G amp. My question is am I gonna want to upgrade anything on this guitar and if so, at what point do I say I'm spending too much and go with the MIM Strat? I'm new to electric guitars so if this is a stupid question, just spank me and call me a newbie.

Black Strat and Caddy like this.
  2. Eddie

Eddie Squier-Meister

Nov 5, 2016
    New York
    The Squier Affinity is a great platform to build something customized for yourself. Start with the swapping out the tremolo block with a MIM one. You can get them on Amazon for $20. The only thing is that the Affinity has a thinner body so the block will protrude through the back and you won't get the back cover on.

One upgrade that I really enjoyed has been to replace the bridge pickup with a Chinese made Hot Rails copy pickup. Belstar's run about $15 and are easy to change. Makes a huge difference in the tone of the instruments.

So basically, $35 in upgrades will make your $199 Squier Affinity sound like something double it's price. Or if you're a savvy shopper, brand new Affinity's are being sold on CL for $60.

Enjoy ... the mod bug is hard to resist.

Black Strat likes this.
  3. Robb

Robb Squier-holic

Jan 13, 2011
    Chertsey Canada.
    Welcome to ST Woodrow

4. techowiz

techowiz Squier-Meister

Aug 21, 2014
    new york
    If you are happy with the guitars sound , and tuning is holding- why change a "good thing"? You can always buy a higher end guitar when you are ready.

Rollmeaway, syrynx, jerome and 3 others like this.
  5. Brever

Brever Squier-holic

Oct 5, 2015
    Texas