Recommend a soldering iron...

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by hrstrat57, Oct 21, 2020.

1. hrstrat57

hrstrat57 Squier Talker

Aug 18, 2020
    Rhode Island
    That’s cheap
    Gets hot
    Stays hot

in other words it works with no fuss or nonsense for soldering to pots, jacks etc

linky to online purchase will be most appreciated!

cheers!

Kenneth Mountain likes this.
  2. Loin Lover

Loin Lover Squier-holic

Jul 26, 2018
    Backwoods, USA
    hrstrat57 and drewcp like this.
  3. DougMen

DougMen Squier-holic

Jun 8, 2017
    Honolulu, HI
    There's no better than Weller. I worked as a tech in Silicon Valley for many years and in every company I worked for, all we used were Weller irons.
    Weller%20WTCPN%20Soldering%20Iron%20Station%20TC202%20with%20TC201.jpg This is what I used for decades. We didn't need the fancy ones with temp controllers. We would just swap tips for heavier/higher temp use.

4. Horseflesh

Horseflesh Squier Talker

Sep 19, 2020
    Seattle-ish
    I might say Hakko beats Weller... but a Weller iron is totally solid and a huge step up from a no-name iron. A Weller is my daily driver.

For working on jacks and pots this plain Jane Weller would probably be fine.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AS28UC/?tag=squiertalk-20

However, the tip that it comes with looks gigantic. It says it is a "ST3" tip that is 1/8" across but the picture makes it look enormous. If a smaller tip is required, this iron takes the ST series and something will be available.

I would also recommend getting good old fashioned leaded rosin core solder like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075WB98FJ/?tag=squiertalk-20

5. SubSailer671

SubSailer671 Squier Talk Member ‎‎‎‎‏‏‎ ‎

I would agree that Hakko beats Weller, but Metcal beats Hakko. But if you bought my Metcal soldering station today it would cost north of $850. Way too much for guitar work.