Noob needs advice

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sid Stratman, May 29, 2020.

1. Sid Stratman

Sid Stratman Squier Talker

May 29, 2020
    ontario
    Hi Guys. Noob here. New to electric guitar. New to Squiers. New to everything. Need advice. I'm kinda undecided on what I want it to sound like or what i want to play. I like everything from Jerry Reed to metal to jazz.

I bought a '19 Bullet Stratocaster HSS made in Indonesia and i am thinking of some upgrades i'd like to do and other things and i wanted advice.

First and foremost, the G string seems to be 30% louder than other strings and the B string about 15%. It's pretty annoying. It's the same in all settings of the 5 way. I am coping with this annoyance by lowering the high ends of the pickups. All three PU's are now flush with the body on the high ends and raised almost to the point of interference on the low end. This helps but the balance is still out and the high E is a little weak. I'm not sure what to do next other than putting thinner strings on the G and B.

Also, the humbucker is pretty annoying when played on it's own. I can compensate by turning down the highs on the EQ on the amp, but there has to be a better way. I am pretty stumped on this. I've read about switching the 2nd tone control to control the humbucker only, but i wanted to get some other ideas.

Upgrades I am considering is installing the Freeway 5B5-01 10-way selector switch to get 5 more pickup selection options, but i am mulling over how to wire up the tone control. Maybe one for the bridge and one for the neck.

Also, considering new locking tunas, read somewhere that Fender tunas don't fit Squiers, so i would like find some that will fit without modifications.

I have no problems swapping out the pots but have no idea what to get and what it will do to the sound.