New to guitars, bought a Strat to learn on

Cough Syrup

Squier Talker
Aug 30, 2022
Northern California
Hi everyone-

I'm a bassist who is interested in learning guitar to aid my bass playing and songwriting. Does anyone have any suggestions for good online guitar lessons?

When I picked up a bass like 25 years ago, Squiers didn't have the greatest reputation. But I am so amazed at how good the new Squier basses are that I not only ordered a Classic Vibe 60's Precision bass but ordered a new Affinity HSS FMT Strat to learn on as well. If anyone has any experience with either of those I'd love to hear about it.

I do some flipping on the side, buying cheap or underpriced basses on eBay or Facebook and cleaning them up then re-selling them. I'd kind of like to start doing the same with guitars. I'm pretty confident in my assessment of basses and their market value, but what is a good resource other than Reverb for guitar prices?

Eddie

My Squier is on Fire !!!
Gold Supporting Member
Nov 5, 2016
New York
FYI - 25 years ago, Squiers were running the NC models ... which are super, fantastic guitars.

The perception of it being a "beginner" guitar taints the image of a very good instrument.

Welcome to the world of Squier guitars. If you look past the logo, I'm sure you'll find something really special. :)

Loin Lover

Dr. Squier
Jul 26, 2018
Backwoods, USA
Welcome to ST. Let's see your guits.

There are several good online lessons. However, there is no substitute for a good in-person lesson. Keep in mind, good players do not necessarily equate to a good instructor.

Here is a link which took off like a rocket. It has tons of info and support. http://www.squier-talk.com/threads/who-wants-to-learn-to-play-guitar-with-me.161618/

I also am a fan of Justinguitar.com Justin starts with fundamentals and expects mastery, or close to it, prior to advancing. In other words, play clean. Enjoy.

Dpsixstringer

Squier-Meister
Jun 13, 2022
Reading pa
Hi everyone-