Brass saddles

Discussion in 'Squier Telecasters' started by JurnyWannaBe, Apr 6, 2021 at 12:56 AM.

1. JurnyWannaBe

JurnyWannaBe Squier-holic

Feb 14, 2019
    I’m just getting into Telecaster’s and this has probably already been beat to death. Do brass saddles make enough difference in tone and sustain to use them?

2. Twostratsfornow

Twostratsfornow Squier-holic Silver Supporting Member

Nov 14, 2020
    Ontario, Canada
    I put a set on my Affinity. The tone did become fuller, but.....at the same I also changed strings from the nine gauge Ernie Ball Slinky’s that were on the Tele when I bought it, to ten gauge D’Addario nickel wound. How much of the difference in tone can be attributed to the strings, I don’t know. Not much help I know, but that’s all I got.

3. MrYeats

MrYeats Dr. Squier Platinum Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2017
    South Texas Coast
    Think density.
    Plastic, wood, bone, steel, brass, lead,
    Tone is more affected by density on the nut and saddle.
    Brass and steel are not so different.
    Bone and steel are a bit different.
    Lead would not be desirable at all.
    I have made nuts from mesquite wood which is very hard.

4. Luvs2yoko

Luvs2yoko Squier-holic Gold Supporting Member

Jan 19, 2014
    Pa
    Brass is suppose to be less harsh and eliminate some of the ice pick found in telecasters. I have many Tele's with both kinds, I think there is a subtle difference.I also have a telecaster with a top loading bridge and graph tech saddles that has a great traditional tele sound.I would encourage you to buy as many different telecasters as possible.

5. Atlen

Atlen Squier-Meister

Jul 19, 2019
    Norway
    I put Wilkinson 3-barrel bridge on my MIM Telecaster and noticed a slight difference in tone (did not change strings).
    I would say the difference is smaller than fresh strings vs old strings.
    Looks a lot better imo though ;)

6. MrYeats

MrYeats Dr. Squier Platinum Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2017