A new Squier 51 popped up locally for a decent price, too good to be true?

Discussion in 'Squier Vintage Modified models' started by riffyrandy, May 23, 2020.

1. riffyrandy

riffyrandy Squier Talker

May 23, 2020
    asia
    Hello

I saw a listing for a blonde Squier 51 from '06, judging from the code on the headstock, recently at a local music store that im excited about. Quite wary of it though as when i asked if they could identify the date of it, they sent a pic of the original box that may have a typo on it, i think. On the box it says Squire '51 where all the codes are and im curious if this is a normal thing or something i should look into. Has anyone ever encountered something like this? Everything else about it seems to check out other than the typo. Just wanted to make sure before pulling the trigger that it isnt a fake or whatever.

Will try my best to include the photos they sent me (bare with me im new to this lol)

Also excuse me if this is a stupid question, im not all that familiar with Squiers (working on changing that)

Thanks
    sq.jpeg sq2.jpg

Kenneth Mountain and mb doug like this.
  2. cool gouhl

cool gouhl Squier-holic

Dec 4, 2014
    Cincinnati
    Welcome to the forum. That does seem a little odd. Is it spelled correctly on the headstock? If you like it I would at least go look at it and try it.

3. MrYeats

MrYeats Squier-holic

Dec 28, 2017
    South Texas Coast
    It is just a typo as both words Squire are the same. That is just someone programming the label that didn't know how to spell Squier.

drewcp, Kenneth Mountain and mb doug like this.
  4. Paruwi

Paruwi Squier-Nut

Apr 28, 2019
    Kraut-Territory
    I don't think Fender is writing 'SQUIRE' on the package......

5. riffyrandy

riffyrandy Squier Talker

May 23, 2020
    asia
    Hi, thanks.