Why upgrade?

Discussion in 'V.C.'s Parlor' started by Flying Z, Jun 19, 2019.

1. Flying Z

Flying Z Squier-Meister

Jun 1, 2019
    Mobile AL, USA
    So im new to guitar and I am seeing all kinds of great builds and mods on ST, I've been thinking i should get into mod because it would fit my budget more and im a' kinda fix it guy.

So i asked the always helpful YouTube and wanted to share....enjoy and share thoughts. Please.

mb doug likes this.
  2. Conghaille

Conghaille Squier-holic

Jul 12, 2016
    Chicago
    For me modding is about compromises to get the best possible instrument for the money. It’d be great to get a closet full of guitars with every range of specs, but not everyone has ten grand for 5 American Elites. So instead I find a solid platform that feels and plays well, and then I can customize electronics and hardware to get tone closer to what I want and feel and features without breaking the bank. Even buying a modding platform new, I can usually get close to my target for well under half, sometimes under a quarter of the price. It’s not perfect, but it can be pretty great.

3. dbrian66

dbrian66 Squier-holic

Jul 14, 2017
    Maryland, USA
    For me it is really about enjoying the build. I like to work on guitars as much as I do playing guitars. But in the end, you can end up with an instrument that plays and sounds way above its price point.

4. JurnyWannaBe

JurnyWannaBe Squier-Meister

Feb 14, 2019
    ^^^ Nailed it :)

5. surf green

surf green Squier-holic

Jul 15, 2014
    RI