What are your practice habits; from novice to expert? Keeping it interesting while progressing.

Discussion in 'Music, Theory, Tab and Such' started by optofonik, Aug 9, 2018.

1. optofonik

optofonik Squier-Meister

May 18, 2016
    Los Angeles
    I'm still developing practice habits (some good some bad, I'm sure) and am curious about others here; both experienced players and novices.

I tend toward a way of practicing that mirrors how I studied in college; roughly, thirty minutes on, thirty minutes off. Back then when my mind started to fatigue on a given subject I would switch to another. In the case of guitar practice, I switch to another guitar. Sometimes I'll switch to bass or piano for a bit but I'm trying to keep my focus on guitar and it's too easy for me to get lost in another instrument.

I use writing as an entry point to practice in that I'll try out new chords by using them in a "song". There's usually at least one chord in any progression that's a PITA so I simply practice finding a comfortable fingering that works for transitioning to and from the chords then work at transitioning accurately and cleanly.

I have to admit that I am remiss in what is always the most important thing with any instrument. Scales. I've tried with every instrument I've picked up to figure out a musical way to work on them in the past but the bottom line is always the same; scales are the tedious chore that needs to get done in order to progress beyond novice. Practicing scales on bass is the least tedious, though.

Today I'm switching between extremes to keep it interesting, from a 7.5" radius Strat to a 12" radius LP.

2. so1om

so1om Dr. Squier

Feb 10, 2010
    Chicago
    I've been playing since 1977 or so. I learned how to tune, where the notes are, most basic chord forms. The names and the diminished +7 or all that, not so much. Scales per se? No. Pentatonic? Is that the blues one?