Was SUPPOSED to be a NGD post...

Discussion in 'V.C.'s Parlor' started by daan, Mar 29, 2020.

1. daan

daan Squier-holic

Oct 21, 2013
    Twin Cities
    0806E73B-AAB4-4676-822D-7881DEA11A65.png 50E488D0-016B-4610-A888-1DF542B4B465.jpeg 6512EC6C-E701-4CD1-914E-7823CB00733A.jpeg So about 3 weeks ago, my daughter broke her Clarinet. I took it to the music store to see if they could/would repair it. While I was waiting for them to call their woodwind guy, I started playing the Guild Madiera they had. A 70’s figured maple beautiful acoustic. I keep buying acoustics, because I feel like I should have one, and then selling them again because I never play them...
    Well THIS one just “spoke to me”, it played really easily, and sounded REAL good despite the old, corroded strings. I told them I would take it, if they set it up and put new strings on it while the clarinet was getting worked on. So of course they called a couple days before everything got shut down that the instruments were ready to be picked up. I was working the same hours the shop was open though, and couldn’t get to them in time. I did call to see if I could just meet them and pick everything up, but I haven’t heard back...
    I did find pics of a similar Madiera online, just to make this thread more interesting.

Oh, and the Clarinet just needed to have the Corks trimmed-a guy at my girls’ school wanted everyone to leave the kids’ instruments at school before the start of the school year “so we can tune up everyone’s instruments” and they didn’t recork hers quite right. Hmmmmm...

2. radiotech

radiotech Dr. Squier

Apr 23, 2014
    Chicago
    I had one (bought for my ex, back when we were in high school, she still has it/doesn’t play) with a traditional dark headstock, side, and back. Phenomenal sounding instrument. Not boomy like a Martin, but has an exquisite mid range that carries through a room.

3. daan

daan Squier-holic

Oct 21, 2013
    Twin Cities