Tube Amp is arriving on Sunday

Discussion in 'Amp-a-ridifiers' started by jbrowning, Jan 3, 2020.

1. jbrowning

jbrowning Squier-Nut

Jan 28, 2019
    colorado springs
    Well, I just ordered the Monoprice 15W amp from Amazon and it will be delivered to me on Sunday.

After taxes and shipping ordering it from Monoprice or Amazon was a few dollars difference and Amazon can get it to me on Sunday where as Monoprice would be sometime next week.

Jim

Attached Files:

2. Eddie

Eddie Squier-Axpert

Nov 5, 2016
    New York
    Hollah ! Let us know how it sounds. :)

3. RoyalWe

RoyalWe Squier-holic

Sep 5, 2012
    Eugene, Oregon
    Welcome to the club!

4. jbrowning

jbrowning Squier-Nut

Jan 28, 2019
    colorado springs
    Where can I go to learn what the do's and dont's are for using a Tube Amp? I've never used one before in my life.

5. squierTony

squierTony Dr. Squier

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
    Just plug it in, let it warm up, and play away. Adjust controls to your liking and enjoy. The tubes in the back will get hot so be careful and don't burn yourself.

6. SubSailer671

SubSailer671 Squier-Nut

Jul 4, 2019
    Ohio, United States
    It will be packed with a do's and don'ts document. Short answer is to follow a couple of simple things, every time.

1. Let the amp warm up for a little while (a minute or so) before you use it. This lets the heater elements in the tubes come up to temp.
    2. Let the amp cool down for a little while before subjecting it to vibe and knocks (e.g., don't move it or kick it) after use. I always wait 10 minutes or so. This is because the tube filaments are most fragile when warm.
    3. Turn the volume all the way down before connecting a guitar cable.

Lastly, play the hell out of it. The speaker needs some exercise before it sounds great.

7. squierTony

squierTony Dr. Squier

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
  8. Triple Jim

Triple Jim Squier-holic