Tariffs on Chinese Made Goods

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by tjnugent, Jul 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tjnugent

tjnugent Squier-holic

I have been looking to see if Squier guitars made in China would be taxed in the ongoing trade war our beloved President has started. All I can find is that guitar cases or musical instrument cases that use sheets of plastic or other textiles will have tariffs.

I know that a trade war is not good for the consumers, because the Chinese can wait, and wait they will. Our President seems to forget that the majority of money borrowed to float our national debt is held by China. The Chinese also own a huge amount of US real estate. They are our friends, not our enemy. It is the same with Mexico, where are reasonably priced Fender guitars come from as well as Canada and Europe, where we get a load of music gear... Especially Marshall and Vox amps.

Rant over,

I am a guitarist, I am thinking only about our gear and not some grand political scheme. I just hope the prices of our beloved instruments do skyrocket.

I live in TN where the pork farmers are practically lined up on a tall bridge ready to jump off over this trade war. Trade wars are bad for everyone and cannot be won, not in our global economy.

2. mikesr1963

mikesr1963 Squier-Nut

May 6, 2016
    Virginia
    If Donald Trump frightens you then you would have died of fear under Jimmy Carter. The absolute worst time of my life.

KG7IL and Davey like this.
  3. Davey

Davey Squier-holic

Mar 31, 2015
    Monroe WA
    Breaking news! we have been in a trade war for many decades already AND LOSING!

The harsh reality for the easily frightened is this is not a huge deal and will not cost consumers in any real meaningful way.

A penny on the aluminum for a six pack.

45 bucks in steel on a brand new car

On and on.

This is a good thing for the US despite what the fake news guys are telling you.

4. -r3-

-r3- Squier-Meister

Jan 28, 2016