Staggered pole piece pickups

Discussion in 'Pickup Joint' started by alan s, Feb 11, 2019 at 2:44 PM.

1. alan s

alan s Squier Talker

Jan 21, 2019
    Lincolnshire UK
    Hi all
    I am new to modding guitars and in the past few days I have fitted Wilkinson MWVS pickups to my Affinity and all new pots and a new 5 way switch.Now it is finished ,although I like the sound of the pickups,in my ignorance of pickups I bought some with staggered pole pieces,after making adjustments to p/up height they are sounding pretty good ,however,I am finding the G string more powerful than the others and its starting to displease me a bit.
    The original p/ups were not staggered BTW
    My query is this ..is it possible to reduce the height of the G pole on the p/ups? by filing or something,I have read that some poles can be adjusted but these do not appear to be so,maybe I will swap the with some none staggered ones at a later date.

Best wishes

Alan

Caddy likes this.
  2. Guitarmageddon

Guitarmageddon Squier-holic

Sep 27, 2014
    Canada
    Lower them.....then it won't matter as much, and they will sound nicer too...

I meant to comment on the thread where you changed them, and I didn't want to seem rude....but it's weird you replaced cheap ceramic pickups.....with cheap ceramic pickups? Wouldn't you want a nice alnico upgrade? IMHO the MWVS sound no better than stock Affinity pickups.....

3. Eddie

Eddie Dr. Squier

Nov 5, 2016
    New York

Looks like it received some positive reviews:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015Y1TOO2/?tag=squiertalk-20

4. Guitarmageddon

Guitarmageddon Squier-holic

Sep 27, 2014
    Canada
  5. fadetoz

fadetoz Squier-holic

Jun 29, 2011
    IA
    With some pups you can adjust the poles but I've never done it.

6. Jay Jackson

Jay Jackson Squier-Meister

Sep 1, 2018
    sanluisobispo CA (3401