Squier Strat pickup upgrade

Discussion in 'Squier Stratocasters' started by fable55255, Oct 14, 2013.

1. fable55255

fable55255 Squier Talker

I have an Indonesian Squier Affinity strat (I don't know what year, probably 2012) that I got out of a strat pack and have since upgraded my amp. I'm looking at a set of pickups sold by GFS, not the GFS pickups but the prewired pickguard for around 50 dollars.
    My question is, are they going to be a siginicant upgrade over the stock squier pickups? The reason I'm leaning towards the prewired pickguard is that I've never done anything like this before and would prefer to only have to solder 2 wires.
    The pickups I'm looking at:
    http://www.guitarfetish.com/ALNICO-Pickup-pre-Wired-Guard-70s-Tuxedo-Black-over-White_p_84.html

Because I'm still new to guitar I'm not sure I want to put any more money than those cost into it, or if it's even worth it.

Link to the guitar I bought:
    http://www.amazon.com/Squier-Fender...=1381781010&sr=1-3&keywords=squier+strat+pack

2. softwarejanitor

softwarejanitor Squier-holic

My personal opinion on the $50 pre-wired pickguard is.... only a slight upgrade over stock. Your stock pickguard if sold by someone like GFS would be about a $35 unit. If you want a bigger upgrade you need to go up to something at least $75 or so for the pre-wired pickguard. If you are willing to make a bit of a compromise... buy the "unloaded" pickguard like this:

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Pre-Wired-UNLOADED-Strat-Pickguard-3-Ply-White_p_4235.html

And then all you have to do is solder in the pickups like these:

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Premium-Alnico-Strat-Pickups-Our-Best-Vintage-Set_p_616.html

That's 8 wires you have to solder instead of only 2... but the hard part of it (wiring the pots, cap and switch) is done for you... This route also lets you pick just about any SSS sized pickup set you want.

It gets you nearly what this does, but at a cheaper price for just a tiny bit more work: