Squier P/J questions

Discussion in 'The Squier Bass Place' started by Hammertime, Jan 10, 2019.

1. Hammertime

Hammertime New Member

Jan 8, 2019
    Milford De
    Hello all...new member here. Been playing for hobby and fun for a long time...I'm 80... and have had a couple of MIM's for a while. Sold one a while back, and I just picked up a loaded VM P/J body from a fellow in NJ in excellent shape. Bought some Fender tuners from another fellow in Alabama, and my tech had what turned out to be an '89 Korean Squier neck laying around for about 15 years. Put is all together and it plays great. Sorry for no pix but I'm not that tech savvy. Anyhow, the P pickups sound great, but the J pickup sounds tinny and hollow, not to my liking at all. I never had a Jazz so I don't know how it's supposed to sound, but is this normal? I can't ever see myself using that pickup for anything, it sounds so bad. Is it defective, or does it sound like it is supposed to? I don't have any idea. Do I need to replace it with something better.

Responsible comments invited, for sure. BTW, I'm loving that Korean neck.

jefffam likes this.
  2. jefffam

jefffam Dr. Squier

Jan 26, 2015
    Portland, TN
    Hi and welcome to Squier-Talk.

Interesting question. Someone more knowledgeable on bass pickups is sure to be along. I have two P/J basses, a P-Bass P/J Affinity and a VM Jaguar Special SS. Both of the J pickups sound O.K. on mine, at least to my ears. I do know that the P pickup is AlNiCo & the J pickup is ceramic, that might account for some of the difference, as well as the J pickup being much closer to the bridge. It is also possible you just have a bad pickup. As I said someone should be along with more technical knowledge than I.
    Anyway, welcome aboard and most of all have fun.

3. so1om

so1om Dr. Squier

Feb 10, 2010
    Chicago