Questions about coil splitting a humbucker

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by MuleFan, Nov 8, 2019.

1. MuleFan

MuleFan Squier-Meister

Jul 29, 2013
    Upstate New York USA
    Hi guys! I’m hoping someone can help me with some questions about a mod I’d like to try. I have a mid-level Squire Tele, I forget which model it is, but it came to me used with a humbucker at the neck, and traditional Tele single coil at the bridge. I recently purchased a new set of pickups I want to try, and I’d also like to coil split the humbucker while I’m at it, and I’m new to the coil split mod part specifically.

My parts list so far is:
    Bootstrap brand Sweet Serrano humbucker for the neck pick with a four lead wire
    Bootstrap brand Pretzel Pup single coil Tele pickup for the bride.
    Ryan from Bootstrap suggested 500K pots, so I ordered a Bourns 500K pot as well as a Bourns 590K push/pull pot.
    I’m going to try to reuse the stock 3 way Tele switch, Jack, and chrome cover plate, unless I get noise or buzzing from them.

I would like to ask, should I use the push/pull pot as the volume or tone control? How do I wire just the one humbucker with the coil split mod? Is there a wiring diagram somewhere that shows my setup (ie: coil split humbucker neck with single coil bridge PU). When I’ve looked online, the diagrams I have found are showing two humbucker both with the coil split mod. If anyone can help with a diagram it would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you for the help!

Kenneth Mountain and dbrian66 like this.
  2. Guitarmageddon

Guitarmageddon Dr. Squier

Sep 27, 2014
    Canada
    You'll need to speak to Bootstrap again before beginning - you/we need to know their color code for the 4-5 wires, otherwise we're not going to know how to solder it up....

I also have this auto split 5-way switch Tele wiring....you could eliminate the push/pull entirely...of course the colors of your pickup aren't the same as Seymour Duncan so changes would need to be made...

[​IMG]