Old British Bike Job

Discussion in 'V.C.'s Parlor' started by MrYeats, Aug 9, 2018.

1. MrYeats

MrYeats Squier-Meister

Dec 28, 2017
    Texas Coast
    This is a few pix I came across and reminisced about the days I had a bike shop in my garage. This is a 1950 AJS M10 500cc single. I did the black laquer, pinstripes, new tires, original seat, etc... The guy ran out of money before I had on the exhaust and get running so he took it back and garaged it. It had been garaged for 30 years and wa butt ugly with ape hangers and the whole 9 yards.

The two in the backgound are a couple of Ymahas I was redoing.
    AJS1.jpg AJS2.jpg AJS3.jpg
    AJS7.jpg
    AJS8.jpg

2. daan

daan Squier-holic

Oct 21, 2013
    Twin Cities
    Old British bikes are super cool. Well, bikes in general are, but there’s something special about Brit ones. Very cool!
    Were you able to get parts for that, or was it too obscure? I haven’t heard of that brand before, not that I’m an expert or anything...

MrYeats and Merv_j like this.
  3. 5ofeight

5ofeight Squier-Nut

Nov 14, 2016
    Glasgow, Scotland
    When I was a kid, every garden shed had an old Brit bike in it. the Japs with their super fast 2 strokes where the bike for us teens. Needless to say you could pick up a Brit bike for next to nothing back then and I was lucky enough to own AJS, Nortons, BSA, Panther. Cant buy a Brit bike now without spending 1000's.. Shame the Japs couldn't get the Brit engine sound from their engines, A Norton or BSA at full chat is a beautiful noise.

nitro, squierbilly, willhowl and 4 others like this.
  4. Lonn

Lonn Administrator Staff Member

Dec 19, 2009
    Carmel IN
    Admin Post
    Back in the 70s my uncle rode a Norton 850 Commando. Until he wrecked it.

5. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Squier-holic

Jan 7, 2016
    Maryland, USA