New bridge saddles

Discussion in 'Squier Stratocasters' started by Dr Carrot, Nov 1, 2018.

1. Dr Carrot

Dr Carrot Squier Talker

Oct 31, 2018
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hi everyone. I'm new here. I'm also fairly new to strats (altho, since recently have 3 Strat Squires and a Tele CV). Little help please. I've got a question about filing saddles.
    I used to have the Chinese-stock-standard ones that I decided to replace with Fender-looking ones. Just got them today to find out that there's no notch on them! So, I diligently trawled the web to see what I am missing here. It seems like many strats have saddles with NO grooves/ notches. Is that right? How do you bend without having the string slide? I have a LP, with roller saddles that are too big for the strings, and they slide inside that thing like there's no tomorrow.
    Should I be filing groves in these saddles? Should I just leave them as is?

Kenneth Mountain likes this.
  2. Kenneth Mountain

Kenneth Mountain Dr. Squier

Jan 27, 2016
    North Tonawanda, NY
    Welcome to Squier Talk ! I think over time they develop a groove - but a new set of fender bent steel saddles do not have a groove ?

Your not going to bend past a set screw ?

Dr Carrot likes this.
  3. fattboyzz

fattboyzz Squier-Nut

Nov 29, 2017
    Newnan ,Ga.
  4. wildelectric

wildelectric Squier-Meister

Sep 23, 2016
    Moline, IL
    I agree with @fattboyzz - install them, play as your normally would, go from there.

The Schaller roller bridge is a fantastic replacement for a Les Paul that will keep strings aligned, BTW. YMMV.

[​IMG]

Dr Carrot and fattboyzz like this.
  5. archetype

archetype Squier-Meister

Oct 24, 2017
    Williamsville, NY USA
    The string sees its point of contact on the saddle as a pivot point when the string vibrates or is bent. The string is under tension and stays put at that point of contact. Typically, Fender saddles are hardened and you won't wear grooves in them.