Learning all the way through.

Discussion in 'Music, Theory, Tab and Such' started by GeorgeA, Mar 31, 2019.

1. GeorgeA

GeorgeA Squier-Meister

Jan 16, 2018
    Thunderbolt GA
    May sound silly/stupid to alot of y'all but I'm pretty much just a couch player and when I learn stuff it's usually parts of songs
    I know parts of countless songs but only Livin After Midnight all the way through.
    I'm working on The Rover all the way through now and I'm getting it but I'm curious if anyone has any tips on learning songs all the way through as some of y'all may (probably do) have some techniques to make it a little "easier" for lack of a better term.

Thanks,
    George

If this is in the wrong place I apologize.

FhPudd, Paul1985, dbrian66 and 6 others like this.
  2. kniah

kniah Squier-Meister

Jan 30, 2019
    Waltham, MA
    I'm still a beginner and I've found that playing along with a recording forces me to learn a whole song. This is after learning the parts individually and getting the tempo up. Also, joining a band helps if that is an option!

dbrian66, GeorgeA, ElRey67 and 2 others like this.
  3. strat_strummer

strat_strummer Squier-holic

Nov 24, 2018
    Grouse hunting
    I find it extremely difficult to learn any song all the way through. If it isn't a simple 1 4 5 progression I don't have the patience for anything.

4. RoyalWe

RoyalWe Squier-holic

Sep 5, 2012
    Eugene, Oregon
    I think it might depend on how you’re meaning it. Do you mean learning a song note for note all the way? I usually just learn the form of a song (ABA, ABABCB, etc) and play through the changes. Never really been one for learning a song note for note, I’d listen to the album if I wanted that. Rather I, much like you, learn parts of songs n4n. The parts I’ll learn the most from so I can apply the technique somewhere else in my playing.

5. ElRey67

ElRey67 Squier-holic

Jan 10, 2016
    Chandler, AZ