JV '62 restauration project

Discussion in 'Japanese Vintage Squiers' started by Tamarindo03, Jan 19, 2018.

1. Tamarindo03

Tamarindo03 Squier-Meister

Mar 18, 2017
    Lucerne
    Hei!

This Thread is about my 1983 Squier JV '62 restoration project. For more informations about the guitar you can take a look at my first thread. Also i made a second thread where i asked about a correct pickguard.

What i am gonna to do?
    • Change the wrong pickguard to a vintage correct mint green '62 one
    • Mounting a shielding and new Pickup rubber tubes
    • Replace the wrong decal to a correct Squier JV one.

It's the first time i restoring a guitar. Especialy when it comes to spray painting, sanding and polishing lacquer i am a newbie. But already read some helpful threads, lot of informations from the internet and also looked some videos. I don't have time everyday to working on this project so it could take some time.

Cheers and have a nice time!

You can see a ugly cutout in the electronic cavity and two wrong holes in the Body because of some earlier pickguards.
    IMG_9488.JPG
    The new pickguard, shielding and the pickup rubber tubes
    IMG_9490.JPG
    New pickguard left and old pickguard right
    IMG_9491.JPG
    Everything is installed
    IMG_9492.JPG
    IMG_9493.JPG

Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
    BlueSquirrel, horax, daan and 6 others like this.
  2. Tamarindo03

Mar 18, 2017
    Lucerne
    IMG_9494.JPG
    All the original pickguard holes are matching perfectly
    IMG_9495.JPG
    Installed
    IMG_9496.JPG
    Here in a different light.
    IMG_9497.JPG
    IMG_9498.JPG

cool gouhl, horax, drewcp and 12 others like this.
  3. Tamarindo03

Mar 18, 2017
    Lucerne
    Next steps i am gonna to do are finally buy the decal and make a Stratocaster headstock replica for learning spray painting, sanding and polishing. Make the headstock replica over the weekend and gonna post some Pictures when i'm finished.

4. so1om

so1om Dr. Squier

Feb 10, 2010