Just for Eddie...

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by squierTony, Oct 7, 2018.

1. squierTony

squierTony Squier-holic

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
  2. Eddie

Eddie Dr. Squier

Nov 5, 2016
    New York
    Evil !!! That's exactly the guitar that I sold back in 1988.

I still can't believe I sold it for an ESP.

3. Eddie

Eddie Dr. Squier

Nov 5, 2016
    New York
    When I started playing guitar back in 1984 (14 years old), my dad wanted to get me a guitar that would grow with me, and not stymie my progress.

I remember going to 48th Street in NYC ... back then, it was the mecca of guitar shops. Mannys was like a museum.

Dad did his research and figured Fender Stratocaster or Gibson Les Paul. He was thinking about $400. I couldn't play very well, and just started a month prior ... but I liked the look of the Les Paul over the Strat. After checking out several shops, we were going to settle on a new Gibson Les Paul Standard for about $400.

Then we came upon a shop with a beautiful pre-owned alpine white Gibson Les Paul Custom. New LPC's were going for about $800 at the time. This one wasn't priced great, but we walked away with it for $600 with hard shell case.

I loved the guitar, but didn't really appreciate it. It's like giving a new driver a brand new BMW.

Four years later, I sold it for $600 and used the money on an ESP Mirage Deluxe. Biggest mistake of my life.

4. I try and forget all the dumb stuff I've done back in my youth.
    Cheers, Barrie.

5. Dave M

Dave M Squier-Meister

Feb 27, 2017
    Mira Loma, CA
    Eddie.....got my 1st guitar in '87...white E series Japan strat...didn't know nothin bout working on , action, relief ...nothing....married my 2nd wife in 91..she had a "78 LPC Natural finish.belong to Dead ex-husband.....you know the fret-less wonder...heavy as hell..i didn't like it at all, "strat guy " SRV Type...went thru some money troubles in the mid 90's...hocked it at a pawn store for $300....Never got it OUT !:(...........