How to determine guitar type for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Squier Stratocasters' started by drabina, Mar 14, 2019.

1. drabina

drabina Squier Talker

Mar 13, 2019
    NJ
    I know each guitar type has a distinctive sound and based on what type of music I want to play, I need to pick a suitable guitar type. I am looking at a Squire Stratocaster just because it the most popular guitar and most likely that's going to be my first purchase (I am a noob wanting to learn). But at the same time, I am wondering if Strat is going to play the way I would like. I have no experience with guitars so I don't know if Strat, Tele, Les Paul or something else would be suitable for me. Also, since I am just starting, I can't expect to play anything close to what my favorite musician is playing for the next couple of years at least if not a decade (given I make some steady progress in learning).

So is Strat a good guitar to learn on? Would you recommend something else if the music I like is Dire Straits, Mark Knopfler (of course) and Fleetwood Mac? I am assuming that their music is what I would be trying to learn to play.

2. BlueSquirrel

BlueSquirrel Squier-Nut

Dec 21, 2018
    Europe
  3. drewcp

drewcp Squier-Meister

Dec 14, 2018
    Saint Paul, MN
    Any guitar that is decent will be good to learn on. Some folks start on Strat or Tele, some on Les Paul, other's on Ibanez and on and on.

The important things are going to be:
    Is it set up properly in regards to action (string height) and intonation. So that it's easy to play and the notes sound correct.
    Do you like it? So that it's something you'll want to pickup and play. For example, if Green reminds you of something painful, it won't matter how nice the guitar is, if you don't want to play it.

Once you know how to play you can figure out what sounds/scale length/brand etc. that you like.