Hello from NYC!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dboulders, Feb 11, 2019.

1. dboulders

dboulders Squier Talker

Feb 11, 2019
    NYC
    Hello Squier Talk,

My name is Dan and I'm from NYC and here is some quick background on myself. I started playing guitar when I was around 13 and played for a couple years. Was never really great and as long as I could fumble around and get halfway close to some Nirvana & Rage I was happy. Then about 10 years ago I tried to start playing again and picked up an Ibanez RG 2EX2 from Craigslist for $150 and again I found myself completely uninspired and the guitar got packed away. About a year ago i decided to pick it back and with the help of youtube I learned some of my favorite songs & decided to take took some lessons so I could learn proper technique and such. That went well for a few months and due to my schedule (I'm a married father of 3) I couldn't continue with lessons.

Fast forward to about a week ago I decided I wanted another Squier Strat (I had a black model as my first electric) so I started looking on Craigslist and found a Sunburst Affinity Strat for $30 but it was in pretty crappy shape. It looked extremely tired and had some rust on the hardware and before I did any research on the different models I sent the dude a message offering $20 and he agreed. So this weekend I met up with the guy and picked it up. He are some pics of the moment I walked into my house. Pardon the crappy iPhone pics and lighting.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So needless to say I spent about 3 hours cleaning it up. I even took off all the hardware and soaked them in Apple Cider Vinegar then polished them a bit with some steel wool.

Here are the results:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]