Greetings from Rhode Island, USA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Count Bassie, May 15, 2018.

1. Count Bassie

Count Bassie New Member

Apr 30, 2018
    Smithfield RI
    Hi folks, I've been playing since 1979, and a friend of mine recently put a Squier parts bass together for me. I've been living lean these days, lost a couple nice instruments over the years and haven't been able to find anything quite as cool since...
    Anyway my friend fixes, finishes, modifies instruments and came up with this for me-

20180515_132143.jpg 20180515_132302.jpg

To me the Jaguar shape is almost decidedly un-Fendery! For a bass anyway... and I kind of like it. It's a Squier II neck (Samick factory, Korea), which feels great! And the Vint/Modified Agathis body has a sharp, snappy finish.
    This one's not active, but has a set of Alnico V p/js in it. I don't think I'll go active, which feature this body is originally built around, tho it was an option when I was told about it. Still can be, but I like the "less is more" thing, so far, for this one.

End o' story, it's a very sweet player. The neck is substantial but easy, the balance is almost invisible. As nice a player, and as killer sounding as any Fender I've played in recent years. And the black and Maple thing looks class. I'm very pleased with my Squier.

Thanks for reading, nice to be here.

Last edited: May 15, 2018
    jersey11, Acidhouse, Shine and 14 others like this.
  2. Kenneth Mountain

Kenneth Mountain Dr. Squier

Jan 27, 2016
    North Tonawanda, NY
    Welcome to Squier Talk ! I like that BASS ! ! !

dbrian66 likes this.
  3. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Squier-holic

Jan 7, 2016
    Maryland, USA
    Welcome to Squier-Talk. That's a good looking bass.

Kenneth Mountain and dbrian66 like this.
  4. jjudas

jjudas Squier-holic

Mar 23, 2016
    Metro New Orleans
    Hello and Welcome! Nice bass!

5. Eddie

Eddie Dr. Squier

Nov 5, 2016
    New York
    Welcome. We love Squiers.

6. surf green