Good cheap 60s sounding strat pickups

Discussion in 'Pickup Joint' started by squierTony, Mar 31, 2019.

1. squierTony

squierTony Dr. Squier

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
    Going against all I've ever said about strat pickups I'm going to try a set of vintage voiced pickups I think. I don't want to go all the way back to the 50s but I think the slightly hotter 60s style might be what I'm looking for. Think Jimi Hendrix, Pearl Jam, and SRV . I think my problem was I was trying to get the hotter pickups to get the amp into overdrive tones but I have pedals for that.
    Anyway I dont want to spend too much on a set to scratch my itch and I'm pretty sure you guys could come up with a cheap solution . I've been searching the bay and reverb but there are so many pickups to choose from I'm really almost overwhelmed. Ive looked at the Guitarmadness sets and the 62z might fit the bill but I have no experience with them. I've also looked at the bootstrap pickups which look like a smoking deal for the money. https://bootstrappickups.com/
    Let's say since the bootstraps are 50 bucks that that's max money to spend.

2. Ace38

Ace38 Squier-Nut

Jul 19, 2016
    Tulsa, OK.
    Guitarmadness are OUTSTANDING pickups. I haven't tried the 62z but I'd be stunned if they were anything less than great.

3. Caddy

Caddy Dr. Squier

Nov 29, 2010
    Indiana
    I have a set of those '62'z in a Strat and they really do sound good, and hard to beat the price.

Pat V., Kenneth Mountain and Ace38 like this.
  4. squierTony

squierTony Dr. Squier

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
    25 bucks is hard to beat...

Kenneth Mountain likes this.
  5. Ace38

Ace38 Squier-Nut

Jul 19, 2016
    Tulsa, OK.
    And you'd have them Wednesday. That guy ships FAST.

Kenneth Mountain and Caddy like this.
  6. squierTony

squierTony Dr. Squier

Jul 4, 2012
    MAUD Oklahoma
    In my cart right now lol. $24.70 to my door.

I got some good pots,wires,