Funk equipment ideas?

Discussion in 'Music, Theory, Tab and Such' started by Ralph124C41, Sep 21, 2018.

1. Ralph124C41

Ralph124C41 Squier-holic

Feb 10, 2016
    A somewhat local funk/soul/whatever band has asked me to play guitar. I am really a classic rock bassist but I took a week to try to learn the guitar parts, and even a lead, to some funk(ish) songs and I think I was OK. The band has asked me to join ... although I've warned the members I am NOT a lead guitarist.

Anyway, I need some thoughts on equipment. First Itried using my Bugera V22 and I added an auto wah. I already had a compressor. But then I thought about using my Fender Mustang III V2.0 and I downloaded some "funk" presets and then I crafted my own and I think I got the sound pretty good. So I'm thinking of just using this amp and we also have a p.a. that I can link the amp to.

The Mustang has an auto wah setting and a standard wah ... but the latter really requires you to buy the expression pedal to produce the wah effect. I like the auto wah for rhythm but it's a little lacking for lead work so I'm thinking about buying some form of standard wah pedal. I already have both the 4-button and the 2-button footswitches.

I am using one of my Strat copies so I think I'm OK on the guitar end.

Is there any other equipment, particularly pedals, you folks think I need if I use the Mustang?

Also any suggestions on setting the Mustang up for a good funk sound? I've tried virtually all of the user-defined presets and really nothing just sounds right to me.

Btw, I tried playing funk on my Squier Bullet Mustang and that was a baaaaad idea. Really, really bad. I do think I can use my Squier Affinity Tele or some other single-coils as a backup guitar.

SquierTap likes this.
  2. Davis Sharp

Davis Sharp Squier-holic

Jan 7, 2016
    Maryland, USA
    Play that funky music, white boy!

SquierTap likes this.
  3. Ralph124C41

Ralph124C41 Squier-holic

Feb 10, 2016