First tube amp. Few questions

Discussion in 'Amp-a-ridifiers' started by HDCornerCarver, Aug 12, 2017.

1. HDCornerCarver

HDCornerCarver Squier Talker

Mar 18, 2017
    Lake George, NY
    Picked up my first tube amp yesterday. It's a Marshall Haze 40 I got for $200. It's a little abused, and the guy didn't sound like he's ever changed the tubes in it. I may have jumped a bit too soon at it, since I'm now reading they're pretty prone to failure. It sounds great though, and it's so much warmer than my solid state Fender. Only quirk I've noticed is the overdrive volume seems low without gain (unless that's normal, I'm still learning).

So question is, should I do any maintenance to maybe fix any potential problems? Should I change and bias the tubes, and if so is it something I could tackle myself or should I have a tech do it? I'm a mechanic for a living, but I don't have much experience with electrical repairs, particularly audio. And finally is this something to address immediately or am I free to rock on for a few weeks? I'm just a bedroom musician so this thing would barely register on the volume dial.

May check out a Marshall forum, but I figured you folks usual give sage advice. Thanks in advance for he help.

Here's a few pics. I have to give it a good cleaning still

IMG_0200.JPG

IMG_0205.JPG

IMG_0201.JPG

2. squierTony

squierTony Squier-holic

Jul 4, 2012
    seminole Oklahoma
    I think you should send me that cvc and that would fix everything.

3. DaveDrums

DaveDrums Squier-Nut

Feb 2, 2017
    MA, USA
    Not to be an alarmist but take it to a tech, don't reach in or touch anything if you're not familiar w/ working on amps. They hold voltage and can kill you.

4. wickedtools

wickedtools Squier-holic

May 16, 2010
    west texas
    Yea take it to amp repair guy the Caps can be lethal ;)

5. jackdragbean

jackdragbean Squier-holic

Nov 16, 2011
    Mississippi