Anyone still using a Mustang IV? Looking for Advice.

Discussion in 'Amp-a-ridifiers' started by RegularJim, May 22, 2019.

1. RegularJim

RegularJim Squier-Meister

Dec 30, 2017
    Illiconsin, Wisinois
    This question is specifically for owners/users (past or present) of the Mustang IV (V2).

I have had mine for going on 3 years now, right after I started playing guitar. I really enjoyed it when I first got it (new toy), but now the magic is gone. It's still probably just as good as it was when it was new, but I'm having a hard time enjoying it as much as I did back then.

I've been in the Fuse community and have tried and downloaded many presets, but everything seems very bass heavy, maybe "boomy" is a good word. I've tried adjusting bass level, and experimented with different "cab" settings, moved it closer to and further from the wall, which helps some, but there's still a lot of low end that I can't seem to adjust out. This happens with single-coils and humbuckers, but the humbuckers are bassier(?).

Here are some theories:

- It's because of where I use the amp. I have a small home office (approx. 8' x 10'). Could it be that I need access to an arena to allow this thing to breathe properly?
    - I've developed as a player, and have "outgrown" it, so to speak.
    - I've never learned to use the thing properly.
    - Maybe it was never that good to begin with.

Is there anyone out there that has had the same experience with their Mustang IV? Does anyone have a good solution?

2. AllroyPA

AllroyPA Squier-Axpert

Dec 14, 2009
    Philadelphia
    Try turning cab modeling off and just adjust the EQ settings on the amp model according to the room and volume you are playing at the time. I feel like the cab stuff over-EQ's things if that make any sense

RegularJim likes this.
  3. brentg

brentg Squier Talker

Nov 20, 2015