Affinity Jazzmaster Ground Problem

Discussion in 'Squier Offset Guitars' started by xDarKnightx, Aug 10, 2018.

1. xDarKnightx

xDarKnightx Squier Talker

Aug 10, 2018
    Ontario
    Hi, I have an affinity jazzmaster that I've swapped the pickups in a few times. I haven't played it in a while so i picked it up today and realized there was a ground problem. (Noise when not touching metal...touch strings or tuners and it's silent.)

I took the bridge off to see whats going on, and the ground wire isn't even connected. It just kinda sits under the bridge and gets squashed into the wood -came from the factory like that. I tried moving it and seeing if it worked but same story.

Getting frustrated with one of my most loved guitars, I thought, "OK Fine. I'll throw my EMGS into it and Jim Root it up. no need for bridge ground then!! well.. guess what. The EMGS (or any covered pickups for that matter dont fit the pickguard) Couple hours of fighting with the drill and bits of plastic everywhere, I get the emg's fitted into the pickguard and load it up. I played with it a bit but it's late now and cant really get into it but for now, I dont like the EMGS in it - that and the fact that everything is totally crammed into the tiny routed cavity is gonna make for hell when it comes time to change the battery.

Short story long, does anyone else have this bridge ground issue with their affinity jazzmaster?? is there a better fix? I really liked my Tesla Sharks in it, but that buzz was annoying, and my JB/Jazz set is absolutely KILLER in this guitar and I'd like to go back to that. Besides how can you play anything rock and grunge with EMGS in true jazzmaster style. I Guess the next question is where can I get a replacement pickguard for it now that I mangled mine to fit covered pickups??

Question #2: when I changed the strings, all the little ferrules (sp?) fall out..thats not normal, is it? It's been a long night to say the least....

2. timtam

timtam Squier Talker