Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum

Go Back   Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum > Squier Discussion Forums > Squier Stratocasters
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Squier Stratocasters All kinds of Squier Strats discussed here -- Standard, Bullet, Affinity, Artist, Obey, Classic Vibe, ProTone and Mini discussion.

Old 10-14-2013, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Squier Talker

Default Squier Strat pickup upgrade

I have an Indonesian Squier Affinity strat (I don't know what year, probably 2012) that I got out of a strat pack and have since upgraded my amp. I'm looking at a set of pickups sold by GFS, not the GFS pickups but the prewired pickguard for around 50 dollars.
My question is, are they going to be a siginicant upgrade over the stock squier pickups? The reason I'm leaning towards the prewired pickguard is that I've never done anything like this before and would prefer to only have to solder 2 wires.
The pickups I'm looking at:
http://www.guitarfetish.com/ALNICO-P...hite_p_84.html

Because I'm still new to guitar I'm not sure I want to put any more money than those cost into it, or if it's even worth it.

Link to the guitar I bought:
http://www.amazon.com/Squier-Fender-...ier+strat+pack

fable55255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Squier-holic

My personal opinion on the $50 pre-wired pickguard is.... only a slight upgrade over stock. Your stock pickguard if sold by someone like GFS would be about a $35 unit. If you want a bigger upgrade you need to go up to something at least $75 or so for the pre-wired pickguard. If you are willing to make a bit of a compromise... buy the "unloaded" pickguard like this:

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Pre-Wire...te_p_4235.html

And then all you have to do is solder in the pickups like these:

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Premium-...Set_p_616.html