Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum

Go Back   Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum > Squier Discussion Forums > Squier Stratocasters
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Squier Stratocasters All kinds of Squier Strats discussed here -- Standard, Bullet, Affinity, Artist, Obey, Classic Vibe, ProTone and Mini discussion.

Old 10-12-2010, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Squier-holic

Default Changing strings tomorrow, need advice

Ok, so I broke the high E string while tuning tonight. Stinkin' electric tuner kept saying I was around the 3G tone instead of the 1E I was going for.

Regardless, it broke, and now it needs replacing.

I'm looking into different strings, and I've been doing some research. My strat has 9 gauge on it already, .009-.042. I'm considering grabbing some Dean Markley Blue Steel strings, .009-.042 or .009-.046.

I have never done this before.

Would the .042 strings cause my action to be off, etc?

Also, can I take all the strings off at once or will it screw up the neck?
Is it difficult to change strings? What are some things I need to look for, avoid, etc?

Would you prefer Dean Markley, Ernie Ball, D'addario, etc? Why?

I need all the info I can get as I have not done this before.

Thanks.

HX

Old 10-12-2010, 01:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dr. Squier

http://guitar.about.com/od/beginners...ge_strings.htm
http://video.search.yahoo.com/search...guitar+strings
Papa Joe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Squier Talker

That link recommends changing one string at a time. But what about a bridge change where all the strings come off?
JimR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting

Old 10-12-2010, 02:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Squier Talker

A lot of people say not to take all of them off at one time. I currently have all of mine off (doing some mods to the guitar) and I am not worried. If you think about it, they built the guitar with the strings off so what harm could really be done.