Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum

Go Back   Fender® Squier® Guitar and Bass Forum > Squier Discussion Forums > Squier Stratocasters
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Squier Stratocasters All kinds of Squier Strats discussed here -- Standard, Bullet, Affinity, Artist, Obey, Classic Vibe, ProTone and Mini discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2010, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default 2 point Tremolo upgrade.

Has anyone replaced the block on a Squier Standard Strat with a 2 point tremolo? I'm not having any luck finding one. Even GFS said that their's are not set up for the 2 point. Any help would be appreciated.

Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
Has anyone replaced the block on a Squier Standard Strat with a 2 point tremolo? I'm not having any luck finding one. Even GFS said that their's are not set up for the 2 point. Any help would be appreciated.
I've put Wilkinson 2 point trems in 3 Squiers now, a CII 2000 Standard, a 1995 VN5 MIK and a MIC 2000 SE. Two of the Wilkinsons came from GuitarFetish.com and one of them came from Mighty-Mite. Installation was straightforward. Using my drill press and a sharp (titanium) bit, I drilled a 3/8" hole the depth of the provided post inserts just outside the center of the outer of the original 6 screw holes and then tapped the brass inserts in, screwed the posts into the inserts...

The center point of the 3/8" holes is the 'X', the 'O' are the original 6 holes...

XO O O O O OX

Does that make sense?
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

I'm not wanting to change the whole bridge at this time. Just the block on the bridge. I already have the 2 point system on my guitar. I wanted to put a steel or brass one on to replace the cast one. I have been told the blocks on the 6 screw and the 2 point are not the same. I assumed they were. If I were to put the wilkinson on would it fit on without modification? I love this 2 point system but the block really needs an upgrade.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links   #
Sponsored posting
 

Old 06-16-2010, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
I'm not wanting to change the whole bridge at this time. Just the block on the bridge. I already have the 2 point system on my guitar. I wanted to put a steel or brass one on to replace the cast one. I have been told the blocks on the 6 screw and the 2 point are not the same. I assumed they were. If I were to put the wilkinson on would it fit on without modification? I love this 2 point system but the block really needs an upgrade.
I've never tried one on a Squier that was originally 2 point so I'm not sure how well things would line up. The Wilkinsons are supposed to be a direct fit onto a Fender American, but as we know the MIM and import posts are spaced narrower. The Wilkinson has a circular pivot edge on one side and a blade on the other that allows some difference, but I'm not sure if it would be enough.

I've also got no idea whether the GFS blocks will fit a 2 point system, but I would doubt it.
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

If nobody has the answer I will probably have the machine shop make one. I don't think it would cost too much to make.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
If nobody has the answer I will probably have the machine shop make one. I don't think it would cost too much to make.
There is someone on one of the forums that makes custom trem blocks, but I think he is in the U.K. You are right, a machine shop shouldn't need much more than a band saw and a drill press to make one. You should be able to get a good design by looking at a crapola zinc block and extrapolating the critical dimensions onto a rectangular hunk of cold rolled steel.
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Squier-Meister
 
Tsukiyomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: was Liverpool UK, now NC USA
Age: 44
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
I'm not wanting to change the whole bridge at this time. Just the block on the bridge. I already have the 2 point system on my guitar. I wanted to put a steel or brass one on to replace the cast one. I have been told the blocks on the 6 screw and the 2 point are not the same. I assumed they were. If I were to put the wilkinson on would it fit on without modification? I love this 2 point system but the block really needs an upgrade.
Wow, I was about 24 hours away from ordering the brass block from GFS for the 2 point on my Deluxe but I think I'll hold off now. I'll be keeping an eye on this thread for any developments - thanks for the heads-up and good luck coming up with something
__________________
This is where my signature used to be.
Tsukiyomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: norway
Age: 33
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
Has anyone replaced the block on a Squier Standard Strat with a 2 point tremolo? I'm not having any luck finding one. Even GFS said that their's are not set up for the 2 point. Any help would be appreciated.
I replaced the block on my deluxe strat with a gfs steel block from a tremolo like this http://store.guitarfetish.com/minmeimstupt.html that I wasn't using. If the two-point on the standard is the same it should fit. I'm assuming the block on this tremolo is the same as the import 10.5mm spaced block sold by itself. However, I had to widen the tremolo cavity about 1mm or so, because the bigger block was touching the side. If you're ok with that, go for it.
jackke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackke View Post
I replaced the block on my deluxe strat with a gfs steel block from a tremolo like this http://store.guitarfetish.com/minmeimstupt.html that I wasn't using. If the two-point on the standard is the same it should fit. I'm assuming the block on this tremolo is the same as the import 10.5mm spaced block sold by itself. However, I had to widen the tremolo cavity about 1mm or so, because the bigger block was touching the side. If you're ok with that, go for it.
I've put that trem in my "Gilmour-ized" MIK build... but I am not sure the bolt pattern on the plate to the block of a 2-point Squier trem is the same as a 6-screw Squier trem. Anyone know for sure either way?
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

I'm not looking to modify the body so thats not an option. GFS said theirs will not fit. I have checked a few other places and they said they same thing.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
I'm not looking to modify the body so thats not an option. GFS said theirs will not fit. I have checked a few other places and they said they same thing.
I really wouldn't worry about modifying the body on a Squier. It isn't like it is going to affect the value any.
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

I no longer have the proper tools to do the job and don't want to chisel it. I checked the machine shop and they want $100-150 to make a block. Thats not going to happen. Squier said that guitarpartsresource can probably help but didn't see anything so messaged them and waiting for a response. The worse case scenario, I remove the bridge, fill in the cavity and put a hard tail on it. I need to check the spacing on the wilkinsons.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 04:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
I no longer have the proper tools to do the job and don't want to chisel it. I checked the machine shop and they want $100-150 to make a block. Thats not going to happen. Squier said that guitarpartsresource can probably help but didn't see anything so messaged them and waiting for a response. The worse case scenario, I remove the bridge, fill in the cavity and put a hard tail on it. I need to check the spacing on the wilkinsons.
For what little modification is normally necessary for enlarging a trem hole for installation you can easily do with a dremel and a sandling drum or one of the high speed cutting bits. I had to slightly enlarge the trem hole in the top of the body for my last Wilkinson install and that's how I did it. If you were patient you could probably do it with non-powered hand tools for that matter.
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 05:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

Maybe I should just order one and see what need to be done. If it doesn't work I could always sell it. I was just concerned about removing any wood towards the front of the block because there is very little there and don't want to compromise the stability of the posts. There is so little there now that the posts are practically visible. Not quite but there isn't any extra. I still find it odd that out of all of the upgrades we have done to the Squiers, no one has tried this on a 2 point standard.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 05:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Squier-holic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 2,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyvawn View Post
Maybe I should just order one and see what need to be done. If it doesn't work I could always sell it. I was just concerned about removing any wood towards the front of the block because there is very little there and don't want to compromise the stability of the posts. There is so little there now that the posts are practically visible. Not quite but there isn't any extra. I still find it odd that out of all of the upgrades we have done to the Squiers, no one has tried this on a 2 point standard.
I doubt you'd need to remove any from the front. It is the sides that are usually the offender since the larger blocks are often wider.

All of my Squiers are too old to have the 2 point trem, they are all 2000 or older, and I think the 2 point started in 2002.
softwarejanitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 07:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

What would you recommend? The 10.5 import?
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 08:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

The mexican actually looks more like the one that i have. The hole for the tremolo sets towards the back of the block and the import is in the middle. I am wondering how much thicker this thing will be?
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 11:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere, SA
Posts: 2
Default

I just got done putting a GFS steel trem block on my 2-point Indoniesian Squier "Hot Rails" Stratocaster. It did fit, The three screw block mounting holes lined up perfectely, I did use slightly longer Stainless Steel screws that I bought at the local hardware store, however you can use your existing screws. The string holes lined up pretty much as well as can be expected, I did use a dremel tool to slightly radius the string holes in the trem plate to keep the trem plate from cutting the strings, it was just a slight radius. The tremolo bar hole in the trem plate was slightly misaligned, but I also slightly ovalised the the trem bar hole in the plate to correct the alignment. You will need the smaller diameter trem bar that is sold by GFS for their trem block. The most difficult thing that I ran into was that the trem block is slightly too wide for the block route in the body, I removed less than a eighth of a inch from each side of the trim block with a file and belt sander, you can do the job with a file alone, but the belt sander leaves a nice finish on the block. I then degreased the block and hit it with some Cold Blue. You could also paint the block or leave just the bare steel, however rust may become a issue. This was a Indonesian made Hot Rails Squier Stratocaster. I do not know if this will work with Chinese or Korean made Tremolos, however it is working great for my guitar, and was easily done with a good file, belt sander, and a dremel tool and some cold blue. I did not modify the guitar body in any way and the original trem block can be reinstalled, with only the slightly ovalized trem bar hole showing any modification. It was a while ago when I ordered the Blocks from GFS, but I believe that I used the 10.5 Import blocks that use the centered trem bar hole. It would probably be best to look closely at your trem plate and see were the trem bar hole is in relation to the mounting screw holes for the trem block on your tremolo before ordering the block.

Last edited by workerunit; 06-17-2010 at 11:29 PM..
workerunit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 12:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
Squier-Meister
 
GordonRules24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Illinois
Age: 45
Posts: 290
Default

I have a block from a newer Fender MIM Standard Strat that bolts to the 2-point bridge plate on my Deluxe, and everything lines up almost perfectly, especially if you screw in the trem arm to act as a guide as you screw in the three screws that hold the block to the base plate.

I think the notches for the two pivot studs is the only difference between the base plates for a two-point tremolo and a vintage-style unit, which has six screw holes and a beveled edge at the top. All the measurements for mounting a block should be the same.
GordonRules24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 08:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
formerly dannyvawn
 
Cherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of Lucy
Posts: 2,249
Default

I think I will get the mexi block because the tremolo hole sits towards the back, I let everyone know how it works. Thanks for all of your input.
Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tremolo Adjustment woolbrig Tech-Talk 8 06-01-2010 10:59 AM
inexpensive replacement for two-point trem? alaskafingers Tech-Talk 6 05-11-2010 03:56 PM
Tremolo bar kevinpaul Other Squiers 0 03-27-2010 11:24 AM
WTB: 83 SQ tremolo so1om Misc. For Sale, Trade or Wanted 0 02-11-2010 11:12 PM
A tremolo on a telecaster kevinpaul Squier Telecasters 9 02-08-2010 04:25 AM

» Random Photos
87 E MIJ
ChefBlue
87 E MIJ
» Recent Threads
Title, Username, & Date
Just Curious -...
hudsonnh
Today 06:48 AM
Black Friday deals
horax
Yesterday 01:58 PM
The tree is going up :(
Luthier-Atlanta
Yesterday 06:22 PM
Korean Strat
balston11
11-25-2014 08:19 AM
So, What Pedals Do You...
S. Rock
12-18-2009 11:15 PM
Very cool holiday/team...
IronSchef
11-26-2014 09:28 PM
Anyone else changing...
tlaing
Yesterday 01:33 PM
EHX B9 'Je t'aime... moi...
blackpudboy
11-24-2014 03:41 PM
Compressor : Useless /...
barakimou
Yesterday 04:43 AM
Request advice b4 buying...
antiquityscion
11-26-2014 02:23 PM
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.
 


Design by: vBulletin Skins Zone
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
The words Fender®, Squier® Telecaster®, Stratocaster® and the associated headstock designs are registered trademarks of the Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Squier-Talk.com is an independent, member supported forum and is not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
© 2009 All rights reserved.

Strat-Talk.com is not responsible for the content posted by private individuals on this website. The views expressed herein are solely the opinions of the individuals that produced them and not necessarily the views of the owner of this website.